Member Directory

NEED’s membership consists of the executive leadership of Cooperative Extension, usually the Extension Director or Administrator, from the following 1862 and 1890 Land-grant institutions in the Northeast Region.

Learn more about individual NEED Board Members below.

Member Institutions

  • Cornell University (New York)
  • University of Connecticut   
  • University of Delaware 
  • Delaware State University  (ex officio, non-voting) 
  • University of the District of Columbia  
  • University of Maine
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • University of Maryland, Eastern Shore (ex officio, non-voting) 
  • University of Massachusetts, Amherst     
  • University of New Hampshire 
  • Pennsylvania State University 
  • University of Rhode Island
  • Rutgers University (New Jersey)
  • University of Vermont
  • West Virginia University 
  • West Virginia State University (ex officio, non-voting)

Connecticut

Dr. Indrajeet Chaubey

Dean; UConn College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources

University of Connecticut

UConn Extension Administrative Office
W.B. Young Building
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4134
Stoors, CT 06269-4135

Phone: (860) 486-2917
Email: indrajeet.chaubey@uconn.edu

Dr. Mike O'Neill

Associate Dean & Associate Director for UConn Extension

University of Connecticut

UConn Extension Administrative Office
W.B. Young Building
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4134
Storrs, CT, 06269-4134

Phone: (860) 486-6270
Email: mp.oneill@uconn.edu

Admin Assistant: Marilyn Gould
Asst. email: Marilyn.Gould@uconn.edu

Delaware

Dr. Michelle S. Rodgers

Dean and Director Cooperative Extension and Outreach

University of Delaware

531 South College Avenue
113 Townsend Hall
Newark, DE 19716

Phone: (302) 831-2504
Email: mrodgers@udel.edu

Admin Assistant: Aisha Hoggard
Asst. email: ahoggard@udel.edu

Jennifer Volk

Associate Director Cooperative Extension and Outreach; Kent County Cooperative Extension Director; Environmental Quality Extension Specialist

University of Delaware

College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Paradee Center
69 Transporation Circle
Dover, DE 19901

Phone: (302) 730-4000
Email: jennvolk@udel.edu

Dr. Dyremple B. Marsh

Dean; 1890 Administrator, Research Director

Delaware State University

College of Agriculture, Science And Technology
108 Ag Annex Building
Delaware State University
1200 N. Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19901

Phone: (302) 857-6400
Email: dmarsh@desu.edu

Dr. Donna P. Brown

Associate Dean and Program Leader Family and Consumer Science

Delaware State University

College of Agriculture, Science And Technology
108 Ag Annex Building
Delaware State University
1200 N. Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19902

Phone: (302) 857-6463
Email: dobrown@desu.edu

District of Columbia

William 'Bill' Hare

Associate Dean for Landgrant Programs

University of the District of Columbia

College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability & Environmental Sciences
4200 Connecticut Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20008

Phone: (202) 274-7133
Email: whare@udc.edu

Maine

Dr. Hannah Carter

Dean, Cooperative Extension

University of Maine

University of Maine Cooperative Extension
5741 Libby Hall
Room 102
Orno, ME 04469-5741

Phone: (207) 581-3238
Email: hcarter@maine.edu

Admin Assistant: Angela Hart
Asst. email: angela.hart@maine.edu

Maryland

Dr. Craig Beyrouty

Dean and Director, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (AGNR) 

University of Maryland, College Park

7998 Regents Drive
1296 Symons Hall
College Park, ME 20742

Phone: (301) 405-2072
Email: beyrouty@umd.edu

Dr. Jim Hanson

Professor and Associate Dean for Extension

University of Maryland, College Park

Agricultural & Resource Economics
2200 Symons Hall
7998 Regents Drive
College Park, MD 20742-5535

Phone: (301) 405-2907
Email: jhanson1@umd.edu

Admin Assistant: Peyton Moncure
Asst. email: pmoncure@umd.edu

Dr. Moses Kairo

Dean, School of Agricultural and Natural Sciences

University of Maryland, Eastern Shore

University of Maryland Eastern Shore
School of Agricultural and Natural Sciences
Room No. 3052 Richard Hazel Hall
Princess Anne, MD 21853

Phone: (410) 651-6072
Email: mkairo@umes.edu

Dr. Nelson Escobar

Assistant Professor and Interim Associate 1890 Extension Administrator 

University of Maryland, Eastern Shore

University of Maryland Eastern Shore
2139 Richard A. Henson Center/UMES
Princess Anne, MD 21853

Phone: (401) 651-7930
Email: enescobar@umes.edu

Massachusetts

Dr. Jody Jellison

Director, Center for Agriculture, Food and the Environment (CAFE); Director, UMass Extension; Director, Mass. Agricultural Experiment Station; Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

College of Natural Sciences
319 Stockbridge Hall
University of Massachusetts
80 Campus Center Way
Amherst, MA 01003-924

Phone: (413) 545-4800
Email: jjellison@cns.umass.edu

Admin Assistant: Laura Hall
Asst. email: lhall@cns.umass.edu

Dr. William (Bill) Miller

Assistant Director for Program Development, Assessment and Federal Compliance

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Center for Agriculture, Food, and the Environment
321 Stockbridge Hall
University of Massachusetts
80 Campus Center Way
Amherst, MA 01003-9246

Phone: (413) 545-5017
Email: wamiller@cns.umass.edu

New Hampshire

Dr. Kenneth (Ken) La Valley

Vice Provost of Outreach and Engagement; Director, UNH Extension

University of New Hampshire

University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension
Taylor Hall
59 College Road
Durham, NH 03824

Phone: (603) 862-4343
Email: ken.lavalley@unh.edu

Admin Assistant: Sharon Blake
Asst. email: Sharon.blake@unh.edu

Amy Ouellette

Associate Director, UNH Extension

University of New Hampshire

University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension
Taylor Hall
59 College Road
Durham, NH 03824

Phone: (603) 862-3085
Email: Amy.Ouellette@unh.edu

New Jersey

Dr. Brian Schilling

Director, Rutgers Cooperative Extension; Senior Associate Director, NJ Agricultural Experiment Station

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Cooperative Extension
Marin Hall, Rm 306
Rutgers, The State Unviersity of New Jersey
88 Lipman Drive
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8525

Phone: (732) 932-6633
Email: brischi@sebs.rutgers.edu

Admin Assistant: Rhonda Breen
Asst. email: rbsimone@njaes.rutgers.edu

New York

Dr. Chris Watkins

Cornell Cooperative Extension Director; Professor

Cornell University

Cornell Univeristy College of Human Ecology
127 Roberts Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853

Phone: (607) 255-2237
Email: chris.watkins@cornell.edu

Admin Assistant: Sarah Muzio
Asst. email: sed52@cornell.edu

Pennsylvania

Dr. Brent Hales

Director of Extension

Pennsylvania State University

College of Agricultural Sciences
The Pennsylvania State University
323 Agricultrual Administration Building
University Park, PA 16802

Phone: (814) 865-4028
Email: BrentHales@psu.edu

Admin Assistant: Tami Torqato
Asst. email: tlf2@psu.edu

Rhode Island

Dr. John Kirby

Dean, Director, AES and CE, College of the Environment and Life Sciences

University of Rhode Island

College of the Environment and Life Sciences
423 CBLS Building
120 Flagg Road
Kingston, RI 02881-2020

Phone: (401) 874-2957
Email: jdkirby@uri.edu

Dr. Deborah 'Debby' Sheely

Associate Dean, Extension and Agricultural Programs; Associate Director of Cooperative Extension

University of Rhode Island

University of Rhode Island
Kathleen M. Mallon Center
3 East Alumni Avenue
Kingston, RI 02881

Phone: (401) 874-2240
Email: dsheely@uri.edu

Admin Assistant: Judy Palmer
Asst. email: jmpalmer@uri.edu

Vermont

Chuck Ross

Extension Director

University of Vermont

University of Vermont
Morrill Hall, Room 108
146 University Place
Burlington, VT 05405-0106

Phone: (802) 656-2990
Email: chuck.ross@uvm.edu

Admin Assistant: Cindy Corkins
Asst. email: cynthia.corkins@uvm.edu

West Virginia

Dr. Sue Day-Perroots

Dean and Director of Extension (Interim)

West Virginia University

WVU Downtown Office
P.O. Box 6031
29 Beechurst Avenue
Morgantown, WV 26506

Phone: (304) 293-5691
Email: Sue.Day-Perroots@mail.wvu.edu

Admin Assistant: Robin Rupenthal
Asst. email: RWRupenthal@mail.wvu.edu

Dr. Ami Smith

Associate Vice President for Public Service and Director of Extension

West Virginia State University

Gus R. Douglass Institute
West Virginia State University
100 Curtis House
Institute, WV 25112-1000

Phone: (304) 204-4305
Email: smitham@wvstateu.edu